Levels and CEFR equivalence

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment (CEFR) is a standard guide for teaching and learning languages created by the Council of Europe. It used to measure the level of comprehension and oral and written expression in a language and ensures the equivalence between different official degrees offered by universities and academies. Encourages the mobility of citizens through a linguistic portfolio that summarizes the domain of each language.

This is the table of equivalence of levels that NELC offers regarding the CEFR.


Level CERF C2 C2 Expert
Level CERF C1 C1.2 Superior
C1.1 Advanced 3
Level CERF B2 B2.2 Advanced 2
B2.1 Advanced 1
Level CERF B1 B1.1 Intermediate 3
B1.1 Intermediate 2
Level CERF A2 A2.2 Intermediate 1
A2.1 Basic 3
Level CERF A1 A1.2 Basic 2
A1.1 Basic 1